TLITL Cover.jpg

My debut middle grade novel, The Light in the Lake, is out now from Little, Brown, Books for Young Readers. The story follows a 12-year-old girl who finds herself caught between her love of science and her late twin brother’s belief in magic, when the mountain lake he drowned in shows signs of water pollution and reveals clues about a mysterious creature that might live in its depths.

You can order the book on IndieBound, Amazon, or Barnes & Noble.

Be sure to add it on Goodreads too! Thanks so much for reading.

Critical Praise for The Light in the Lake:

“The novel offers a gentle, introspective exploration of grief and the wonder and fragility of nature, creating a beautiful and dynamic world in which the scientific method and magic coexist.” -Publisher’s Weekly Starred Review

“Without a villain to blame or superhero offering easy solutions, the book offers appealing characters whose opposing interests embody what’s at stake. Compassionately told, this compelling debut brings to life conservation issues and choices young readers will confront as adults.” -Kirkus Starred Review

“A complex take on science, magic, grief, and family for fans of thoughtful realistic fiction in the vein of Kathi Appelt’s, Erin Entrada Kelly’s, and Ali Benjamin’s novels.” -School Library Journal

“Haunting, memorable and full of mystery, The Light in the Lake is a brilliant combination of beautiful, lyrical prose and a compelling, exciting story. Baughman has created complex characters with real, deep emotions and a picturesque setting that will make readers feel as if they are at Maple Lake with Addie.” -BookPage

“Science-minded kids will value Addie’s fact-based approach to saving the lake, while fantasy-lovers will appreciate her open-mindedness. And every tween will understand her drive toward independence.” -Booklist

 

A collection of images representing the “novel aesthetic” of my middle grade debut, THE LIGHT IN THE LAKE. The setting is strongly based on the part of northern Vermont where I lived for six years with my husband and children.

A collection of images representing the “novel aesthetic” of my middle grade debut, THE LIGHT IN THE LAKE. The setting is strongly based on the part of northern Vermont where I lived for six years with my husband and children.